Week one has not been pristine, but that’s okay – at least up until yesterday. Got home from work on Friday to a starving husband and, although I had plenty of food prepped to keep me raw through the weekend, I was weak and we ordered pizza. Yeah, that didn’t turn out so great. I was fine all night, but, in the morning, my body protested strongly. No details, but my digestive system was very unhappy. What did I do? Did I clean it up for the day yesterday and get my system happy again? Oh, no! I made chunky monkey pancakes for breakfast and just went downhill from there for the rest of the day. Ugh. Well, I can say that I won’t do that next weekend! I journalled the experience, so I can go back and remind myself how awful it was! Who knew my body would make such an adjustment so quickly to raw food that it would react so badly on one day of bad eating! I didn’t even really notice a lot of change in those first 5 days. Huh.

On the bright side, where I usually ditch clean eating for the whole weekend, here I am on the last day of Week 1 and I started it out with a big bowl of cut up fruit, dates and hemp seed. This has become my go to breakfast with the occasional smoothie.

This week, I have a couple of recipes that are supposed to use sprouted seeds. I didn’t plan very well. I should have bought the seeds last week and started sprouting them by Friday at the latest. Needless to say, I’ll have to do some adjusting with my meals for this week. I ordered my seeds from The Sprout House yesterday. They’re based in New York, so I’m hoping they’ll get here pretty quickly. Of course, then they have to be soaked, rinsed and drained until they sprout and are ready to use. We learn by doing, right?

I’m really looking forward to this week! At least the food is tasty that I anticipate the things I get to eat!

Some of the other meals I made this week are Pad Thai – the sauce for this is so amazingly good! You could use it for a lot of different things! On the menu for today are my Collard Rolls and Banana Ice Cream! Yes! I get to eat ice cream! I’ll let you know how that turns out!

