What is Reiki?

Reiki is an energy healing practice that originated in Japan.  The father of Reiki was Mikao Usui.  He has passed this practice down since 1922.  It is performed by laying the hands gently on the body.  The practitioner is the channel for energy that passes through to the client providing healing.  This is the short version.

I have been a Reiki Practitioner for several years now.  I love being able to help people.  I have established that in just about every aspect of what I do.  Reiki provides me a way to help people using, not my own skills, but the energy and power of all that our Universe is made of.  I know that sounds a bit like mumbo jumbo or makes me sound like a hippie, but Reiki is a healing method that is subtle, non-invasive and meditative.

I’ve been very slack on my self-treatments for quite a while.  I recently had a wonderful conversation with an amazing woman, Pamela Miles, who is an experienced Reiki practitioner.  She works with the medical community and is dedicated to informing people about Reiki.  I was always taught that before practicing on myself or anyone else, I needed to clear my mind, be at peace and have no negative emotions whatsoever.   Pamela told me that all I have to do is practice – no fancy preparation, just do it.

So, The night of our talk last Friday, I began my experiment.  I am giving myself treatments every night when I go to bed before I fall asleep.  I have done two treatments – the one Friday night and again on Saturday night.  I forgot and missed doing my treatment last night.  It takes a few days to get into a habit!  I don’t expect any immediate changes from the treatments.  Reiki is more subtle than that. I’m excited to be practicing again even if it is only on myself!  For in order to heal others, I must first heal myself!

So, this is my journey and my journal of this experience.  I don’t know that it will be all that exciting to read, but this gives me a place to write about my experiences during this 30 days and beyond as I expect to continue to practice after my experiment for many years to come!

