On the first day of Christmas, my true love sent to me . . .  ____________________

Yes, it’s time to fill in that blank.  It should be easy – diamond earrings, a trip to Jamaica . . . NOT!  That is soooo not me!

Give me more Cathe Friedrich workouts, 5-50 lb. dumbbell set, new workout clothes, movies, books, voice or violin lessons, new operas on CD.  That’s more my cup of tea!  My problem is that I may have to pick just one thing this year.  Yes, the budget is tight and I think we’ve decided to treat ourselves to a Kinect for our XBox as a joint gift.  I would really LOVE a set of kettlebells, but then I’d need DVD workouts to use them with.  I have a Punch Kettlebell Gym locally where I can go for a free orientation! Of course, I could probably hit up all my Facebook friends for their homemade workouts for a while.  I just don’t know what to ask for!  Why can’t I have it all?

This is my first thought for Christmas every year – stuff.  Good stuff, certainly, but still, just stuff.  I’m trying to not get all wrapped up in how much our gift-giving events have suffered from our situation with the economy and one income right now, but it’s really hard when you’ve had the opportunity to experience what things are like when you’re both working and you have that extra income to go places, do things and lavish each other with gifts!

If I could, I would give my husband a great job this year for Christmas!  Alas, I don’t think that’s in the cards for us.  The Northeast is horrible as far as the job market goes.  We can’t move anywhere until my husband completes his Masters next year either.  So, here we are in limbo, me working hard at the office and praying things don’t get worse with the economy, and the hubby working hard to finish a double Masters in Finance and Business by the end of next summer.

So, really, I think I have decided that all I want for Christmas this year is to be together, be healthy and happy!  The rest is, whatever Santa can spare, bonus!

Merry Christmas to all and remember to count your blessings this year and not how many packages are under the tree!

