It was suggested that I blog about my first attempt at a new recipe! Hope you enjoy it!

Foodie blogging is nothing new, but I have never done it! I can cook and bake, but I don’t consider myself a Martha Stewart or even a Rachel Ray.  Not by a long shot!  My motto in the kitchen is “If some of it doesn’t end up on the floor, in my hair and all over the pups, it isn’t a success!” Keeping that in mind, follow along:

I read the recipe through only once.  Sounded easy enough.  I should know better!

I mixed all the dry ingredients as directed, then lightly beat, by hand, the wet ingredients.

I followed instructions that @MeInTheBalance gave me about mixing all the ingredients and blended the wet and dry ingredients carefully with a light hand.

Looking at the mixture, I wondered when in the world I was supposed to add the chocolate chips?  I re-read the instructions and realized I had not only forgotten the chips, but forgot to blend in the light brown sugar, too! Oops!  Dagnabbit! Should have read the instructions more than once through.  I am a stickler for reading recipes at least 3 times to become familiar with the instructions and get my game plan together! Huge FAIL this time around!  Well, I couldn’t bake the muffins without the sugar, so I measured and threw it in using a fork to blend it into the already mixed batter, then stirred in the chocolate chips.

I spooned the complete mixture into my stone muffin pan and put them in the oven.  I kept my fingers crossed that they would turn out okay with all my goofs!  I also left the cinnamon out of the recipe since my husband can’t stand cinnamon.  So, the Chocoloate Cinnamon Muffins became Chocolate Muffins.

Here’s the end result:

My husband loved them!  They came out with a slightly crisp top and moist soft body, not too sweet and very rich and chocolaty!  A definite keeper!  Thanks @MeInTheBalance! Great recipe!

Chocolate Cinnamon Muffins

Ingredients:

Heaping 1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. salt

Heaping 1/2 c. firmly packed light brown sugar

1 c. semisweet chocolate chips

2 large eggs

1 c. milk

6 Tbsp. oil or melted butter (cooled)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a 12-cup muffin pan or line with paper liners.  Sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt into a large bowl.  Stir in sugar and chocolate chips.

Lightly beat eggs in a separate bowl, then beat in the milk and oil. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add liquid ingredients. Stir gently until just combined, do not overmix.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin pan.  Bake for about 20 minutes until well risen and firm to the touch.

Let the muffins cool 5 minutes in the pan.  Serve warm or remove from pan and allow to cool completely on a wire rack.

