Went for my long run this morning.  It was chilly, sunny and pretty darn windy.  I didn’t know about the windy part until we got outside.  I let my husband pick the route and we took off with me sporting my new Garmin Forerunner 405cx!  Because I had to do the set up this morning, we didn’t hit the road until late.

I started noticing that the back of my throat was hurting before we made our first mile!  It’s that brain-freeze feeling, but in your throat.  I should have grabbed my face mask, but I didn’t think it was cold enough for it.  I wish I had put it on!  I have asthma so the colder air affects my breathing, but ordinarily, I do run better in colder weather.

I don’t know if it was the small and only one drink I had last night with dinner, not getting to be until 12:30 a.m., or just not feeling like running (even though I knew I had to), but I had to stop before we even hit 2 miles!  I had to keep stopping about every mile – mile and a half.  I’d walk a bit, then start running again.  We got to the end of my least favorite area, Blackstone Boulevard (which also could have been part of the problem) – we had only gone about 3.5 miles.  I told my husband I was turning around.  He continued on with our running beagle, Milo, as I started back to the house.  I kept pushing myself to run, but had to keep taking walk breaks.  Okay, well maybe not HAD TO, but I would have been wheezing had I kept going.

It’s my own fault.  I haven’t trained properly over the last few weeks as you all know.  I’m really disgusted with myself today.  I’m trying to tell myself that everyone has bad training days, but I really don’t think that’s it.  It’s more my slacking off in my training plan.

I’m beginning to wonder if I’m going to do well next Sunday.

