So, today I had planned a run for this morning and, when my alarm went off, I decided to enjoy my day and sleep in!  Why not?  It is my birthday after all!

I have decided that whether I get 5 more runs in or only 2 between now and my race day, it’s okay.  I know I can run 6.2 miles already.  I’ve done as much as 10!   I’m good with it.  I have no current PR, so whatever pace I run will be my PR!  I know it won’t be too slow, but I’m not expecting to be under a 9 minute mile either.  I can’t run at that pace on a regular run yet anyway!  Why would I be able to do it in DC?

I turn 49 today!  I have no qualms about announcing it or that everyone knows that!  I am more fit, healthy and active than most of the people I know in their 20s!  I’m proud of what I’ve been able to accomplish in these last 2 years (almost, it’ll be 2 years in February).  I think it’s incredible to make such great progress in such a short amount of time!  I didn’t have 100 pounds to lose, but 30 pounds was enough for me!  It was harder than it had ever been when I was younger.  I’ve had to work harder (much harder), more often and eat much smarter than I ever had to before!

The best present so far today is realizing just how great it is to be 49 by date, but 29 by mind, soul and spirit!

