Here I go again!  I was in the shower this morning (too much info?) and started thinking about my current workout rotation.  I’m using a set 10K training schedule and working in bodyweight (HIIT/Tabata) workouts of shorter duration and higher intensity on my non-running days.  This leaves me with one day to do with as I please – fun or rest.

Now, I’m considering abandoning the strict 10k plan.  Why?  Well, I can already run beyond the 6.2 miles necessary without a hitch, unless it’s really hilly.  All I really need to do, so I’m thinking (I just mentioned that thinking gets me in trouble to the girls in my check-in fourm at cathe.com) that as long as I keep my distance between 5 and 8 miles, 3x a week, using one of those to do interval runs using my precious Cardio Coach workouts, and run more challenging routes, I should be fine and dandy for the 10K at the MCM in October.  I want to also throw some weight days back in.  I’m seeing my muscle tone decrease and I’m not happy about that.  Since I’ll be running a race, I don’t want to lift heavy weights right now, but if I work 2 days of upper body endurance programs and one leg day, that should keep my muscle conditioning in good shape while not affecting my runs.  As long as my upper body days aren’t over 45 minutes, I can use short tabata rounds at the end to keep pushing my fat burning.  This should still leave me with one free day.

I know I’ve only been on this program for 2 weeks with the bodyweight training and my 10K plan for one week, but I’m really not happy with the way it’s going.  Why stay with a plan that’s just meh?  Of course, this means I have to be sure to get up at 5:00 a.m. and not 5:15 or 5:20!  I’ll need every minute of my morning to get these workouts done!

I think I’ve just changed the game plan!  I’ll let you know how it goes!

